welcome to the Douala maritine museum
  Historical landmarks Guided visits Our collections Our services Practical information Contact us  

     Our collections  
   
     
   

Thematically planned, the Douala Maritime Museum exhibits a rich collection of artefacts and objects of historic and artistic value such as photographs, sculptures, maps, paintings, videos, documents, archival materials and multimedia animations.

The first part of the exhibition located on the 1st floor of the museum building covers two themes namely: man in his natural environment and trade and the development of ships. Due to the large amount of prawns in the Wouri estuary, Portuguese explorers spontaneously named it «Rio dos Camaroes " translated into English as, “River of Prawns,” hence the name Cameroon. The richness of the waters of the Wouri estuary finally favoured the development of fishing, which is not only a very lucrative activity but a cultural phenomenon within local communities.

Water is not only a source of wealth par excellence but also a route for the carriage of goods using simple canoes, containerships and other types of modern vessels.

The second part of the permanent exhibition is dedicated to the history of trade and its development in various Cameroonian ports considered as the epicentres of all maritime commercial activities carried out between Cameroon and Africa, on the one hand, and Cameroon and the whole world, on the other hand. The ports of Douala, Kribi and Limbe better illustrate this idea.

 
 
 
VIDEO GALLERY
PHOTO GALLERY
 
Copyright © 2013 - Musée Maritime du CNCC - Tous droits réservés.

Bienvenue au musée maritime de Douala
  Notre histoire Visite guidée Nos collections Nos services Infos pratiques Nous contacter  

     Nos collections  
   
     
   Avec une collection diverse et variée constituée d’un patrimoine historique et artistique dont les archives, les sculptures, les photographies, les cartes, les tableaux, les toiles, les vidéos, les différentes expositions du Musée reposent sur des thèmes appropriés.

La première partie de l’exposition située au 1er étage présente deux temps forts : l’homme dans son milieu naturel, les échanges commerciaux et évolution des navires. Du fait de la forte présence des crevettes sur l’estuaire du Wouri, les explorateurs portugais l’avaient spontanément appelé «Rio dos Camaroes» traduit en français, «Rivière des crevettes» ayant donné naissance au nom Cameroun. La richesse des eaux de cet estuaire avait fini par développer toute une activité chez les populations riveraines, la pêche, devenue un phénomène culturel.

L’eau est non seulement une source de richesse par excellence, mais également une route pour la circulation des marchandises à travers de simples pirogues d’autrefois aux porte- conteneurs et autres types de navires modernes.

La seconde partie de l’exposition permanente est consacrée à l’histoire des échanges commerciaux et leur évolution dans les différents ports Camerounais considérés comme épicentres de toutes les activités commerciales maritimes entre le Cameroun et l’Afrique, le Cameroun et le monde. C’est le cas des ports de Douala, Kribi, Limbé.

 
 
 
VIDEOTHEQUE
PHOTOTHEQUE
 
Copyright © 2013 - Musée Maritime du CNCC - Tous droits réservés.